Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 04-12-2020, 07:58 PM   #1
darrienland
darrienland began at the beginning.

Device: kindle fire
Smile Can't upload some epub files into calibre

Hey! I'm new to this (any any) forums, so be patient with me please

I just found my old Kindle Fire and decided to add some books to it again for the first time since 2014. I used the newest version of Calibre to convert my epub files to mobi, but for some reason only about half of the books I have on my computer will let themselves be properly uploading into the program. When i try and upload the rest I get this message:

calibre, version 4.13.0
WARNING: Errors while adding: There were problems adding some files, click "Show details" for more information

Failed to add the file /Users/darrienland/Documents/BOOKS/new book.epub to the book: /Users/darrienland/Documents/BOOKS/new book
With error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/add.py", line 445, in add_formats
File "site-packages/calibre/db/cache.py", line 1442, in add_format
File "site-packages/calibre/startup.py", line 175, in local_open
IOError: [Errno 21] Is a directory: u'/Users/darrienland/Documents/BOOKS/new book.epub'

Now, from what I understand, some (or all?) epub files are sort of like zip files? And (when in the home file location) if I right click the epub files that DIDN'T upload to calibre, there is an option under the 'open with' selection to 'show package contents', which I've noticed the ones that DID upload don't have. So I'm assuming the problem lies somewhere in all of that, but the problem is I'm not sure where to go from there.

So what can I do to get these books in calibre, so they can go on my Kindle? Is there a work around?

Thanks in advance for your time and help!
darrienland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2020, 08:21 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats